Register :: Log in :: Profile   

Samurai Heraldry Gallery
Goto page 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7  Next

Post new topic   Reply to topic    The Samurai Archives Citadel Forum Index // Samurai History - Kamakura to Sengoku
View previous topic :: View next topic  
evalerio
Karou
Karou
Veteran Member

PostPosted: Fri Mar 23, 2007 9:50 am    Post subject: Samurai Heraldry Gallery Reply with quote

I am an illustrator specializing in battle scenes from ancient times to modern times, for work and as a hobby. Seeing Akira Kurosawa's epic films 'RAN' and 'KAGEMUSHA' on the same week in 1985 was a turning point. I became fascinated with illustrating samurai armies, but in order to do them accurately I had to start what might become a lifelong pursuit, the search for armour and especially the banners and standards representing centuries and generations of a vast number of samurai armies.

These are just some samples of my ever growing collection of heraldry sets. They are constantly being updated with corrections and additions as new information become available. I am grateful for many individuals who have helped me 'complete' many of the sets.

NIWA NAGAHIDE (1535-1585) , served Oda Nobunaga and fought in many of his important battles. His banners represent the extreme in the types of flags used by samurai. From a simple straightforward flag, to an elaborate 3d object like a TREE!

The nobori is described in Stephen Turnbull's 'The Samurai Sourcebook'. The sashimono and uma-jirushi are illustrated in Rekishi Gunzo books.

NIWA NAGASHIGE (1571-1637) Son of Nagahide. He served Toyotomi Hideyoshi and fought at the Battle of Nagakute. He sided with Ishida Mitsunari during the Sekigahara campaign. He would go on to serve Tokugawa Ieyasu during the siege of Osaka where he reinforced Uesugi Kagekatsu trying to hold on to Shigino fort. (Nagashige's banners would look familiar to Europeans, the 'X' standards look similar to the current flag of Jersey in the Channel Islands).